Any Time Now

Only 10 days until my due date… and we are definitely anxious and excited for the time to come.

Finally

I finally feel ready to have the baby here. Chase and I cleaned out our extra room over his Christmas break and we finally bought a shower curtain for the guest bathroom. So we are now ready for visitors to come and stay at our house. I finally have my hospital bag packed. It took me two weeks of saying it before I actually got it done, but as of two nights ago it is packed.

I have reached those final weeks of pregnancy where I feel like I have nothing I can wear. I get ready for work in the morning and just stare in my closet thinking what can I possibly fit into. Most of my shoes don’t fit my swollen feet anymore. Soon I will only fit into slippers and sweats and I will just have to stay seated at my receptionist desk so no one can see what I am wearing. I can’t wait to be able to wear my clothes and shoes again!

Laborious Thoughts

I have been to the doctor twice since the last time I blogged. One the day after Christmas and then one yesterday. At the appointment a couple weeks ago, I was dilated to a 2 and yesterday I was dilated to a 3. I was glad to hear that things had progressed.

When I have asked other woman about contractions… almost all have said, “Trust me you’ll know when you are having contractions”. But at the appointment, my doctor asked me if I had any contractions. I told her just Braxton Hicks contractions. A couple minutes later during the exam she told me that I was having a contraction… so apparently I haven’t quite figured out when I am having contractions or not. But we are talking about me, I broke my ankle in gymnastics and didn’t know.

My doctor doesn’t think I will go past my due date so that is good news. She also said that I am not having a large baby, more good news. So now we are just playing the waiting game. Any day now (I can only hope). As my doctor was leaving the room, she said, “Think laborious thoughts.” Pretty clever.

Plans (or non-plans)

If you know me, it’s probably no surprise to you that I don’t have things all planned out. At my previous doctor’s appointment I had to turn in my birth plan. I used the sheet they gave me and went through the checklist. It took me about 3 minutes to fill out. I don’t have much opinion on the matter… I know I want my husband there, he wants to cut the cord, and I want an epidural. That’s my plans. I like to go-with-the-flow. Apparently, the lady who had an appointment before me was my exact opposite, because she had a 4 page birth plan all typed out and made my appointment late.

I have also had multiple people at work as me what my plan is if I go into labor at work and I guess my plan is to get in the car and get to the hospital. Not much of a plan. I just hope I am not at work when my water breaks, now that wouldn’t be good as I am the receptionist and sitting at the front desk.

Upside-down

I have really had the urge to tumble lately. Not sure why, but I really want to flip around… but obviously in my “condition” it is probably not a good idea. I did however make Chase take a picture of me doing a handstand. I did one away from the wall at first but it made him nervous… plus he wasn’t quick enough with the camera, so here is a photo of me doing one by the wall. Chase asked me how it felt, and the best word I could think of was off-balanced.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Christmas

I need to look through my camera again and see if we took any photos of Christmas. We had to stay here for Christmas since I was getting so close to my due date. And I don’t think we did a very good job of documenting it. It was definitely a different Christmas than we were used to but it was still great. On Christmas Eve we ate dinner with the Bedfords. The guys decided that they were all “turkey”ed and “ham”ed out so they wanted to do breakfast for dinner. They took care of most of the meal which was nice. Then we drove around and looked at Christmas lights. The main attraction was the new mayor of Lebanon’s house. It was quite the show.

On Christmas we slept in a bit. Then we opened our presents and Skyped with both of our families. We made a delicious breakfast. We played some video games that we got from my brother Jordan. We watched Dark Knight Rises and I think we even fit a nap in there… or at least I did. Then we went to the Bedford’s so their daughter Jordin could show us what she got for Christmas. She made us “food” from her new kitchen. We played some games and ate dinner there.

We are thankful to have good friends to help us not feel homesick while we were away from our families for the holidays. And also thankful for technology so we could see and talk with our families on Christmas.

Sewing

I got a sewing machine for Christmas from my parents. Because of a shipping mistake from the company I just got it this week. I was so excited to get it. I took a sewing class in high school but haven’t touched a sewing machine since then. I took it out of the box and set it up. Then realized I didn’t remember much about it. After reading through the manual and playing around a bit I felt somewhat comfortable with giving it a whirl.

I made some projects that I had pinned on Pinterest. I made pacifier clips and a car seat cover. Each were simple enough, especially the pacifier clips. I was pretty proud that I was able to get these done and they actually turned out decent. Now I will have to find new projects to do and work on my skills so I can make some harder things.

carseat

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I feel like I had other things to blog about, but I can’t think of what they were. If I find photos from Christmas I will be posting those. And hopefully I will soon I will be able to update the blog with baby photos! Keep your fingers crossed for me… and until then I will be thinking “laborious” thoughts!

2 thoughts on “Any Time Now

  1. Um… a handstand?! I’m pretty sure if I’d done that at 38 weeks, I’d have broken my back. I was the same way with the birth plan. When they asked me… I was like, “Well, I’ll try to go as long as I can without an epidural, and no one other than my husband is allowed in. Other than that… whatever.” I just wanted my baby here.
    You look fantastic though! Good luck with everything!

Leave a Reply

