Less than 100 Days

I was making a few changes to my registry online yesterday and I noticed at the top it says days until due date… only 96 days! Crazy!

My belly has definitely grown since I posted 3 weeks ago. Pretty sure the time has come for the belly to be growing fast. Here are some pictures.

I am wearing the same dress that I did in my 16 week photo, so I decided to put the pictures side by side. Look at the difference 10 weeks make. Besides looking more prego I also noticed that my hair looks so much darker… good thing I am getting it done on Thursday!

English Hothouse Cucumber

My BabyCenter “My Pregnancy” app gives me updates each week on the approximate size of the baby and what development is happening. This week it informed me that he weighs around 1 2/3 a pound and is around the length of an English hothouse cucumber. Because that totally puts it into perspective. If you are like me and don’t know what a hothouse cucumber looks like here it is.

Not exactly how I picture my baby. But apparently that means he is around 14 inches long. Usually the app does a good job a relating the size of the baby to me by comparing it to foods I’m familiar with, like corn on the cob or in the beginning, a blueberry. But it didn’t do quite as good of a job this time, but I did learn something new.

Jet Setter

I have two trips coming up and I couldn’t be more excited. Chase and I head to Utah for a very short trip. We fly in on a Friday and leave on Sunday. But we will fit lots in. Chase will get to be in the wedding line for his best friend Cole’s wedding. I am lucky enough to have a baby shower with Chase’s family and my extended family while we are there. And we will finally get to meet our nephew Quinn and be there for his baby blessing. Any free time will be spent enjoying time with family before we head back to Oregon.

Then the next week I am heading out to Texas. I feel like I haven’t been back to the Lone Star State in forever! So thankfully, I will get to spend a little more time there. I can’t wait to spend precious time with my family and see my good friends. And I get to be spoiled again because I am having another baby shower while I am there. I am sure at this point I will also be glad to get out of the Oregon rain, which started this week.

Sunbeams

At church I teach primary, or sunday school, to the class called the “Sunbeams,” which is made up of little 3 year olds. A couple of weeks ago we had a lesson on being honest. During the lesson we talked about a story from The Book of Mormon about the 2,000 Stripling Warriors. If you aren’t familiar with the story you can read it here, Alma 53–56. In the scriptures, it describes these young men as honorable and “…true at all times in whatsoever thing they were entrusted.”

At the end of the lesson I gave each child a little headband with the words “I can be honest” on them and encouraged them to be honest like the 2,000 Stripling Warriors were. Well I know that at least one of the little ones was listening and enjoyed the lesson, because he continued to wear his headband for days. Shaila‘s little boy Winston wore it to school, bed, and around the house. I am so thankful to teach this class and see this little children learn and enjoy the stories from the scriptures… and plus it doesn’t hurt that they are so cute!

Chase’s Trip

The medical school sent Chase on a trip to Cali a couple of weekend ago. Which meant I had a lot of time on my hands. It worked out well because I worked the OSU football game on Saturday, which kept me busy.

It was also General Conference weekend for the LDS church, which is one of my favorite weekends of the year. Being home by myself, I paid much better attention to the precious words and teachings from the leaders of our church. I was trying to think what message was my favorite and post the link here, but there were so many that I enjoyed! I really enjoyed Elder Hales remarks, he asked, “for every Christian, a simple question remains: what kind of Christians are we? In other words, how are we doing in our quest to follow Christ?” It made me really think about what I am doing in my life right now to be a good Christian. Here are some cute printables of quotes from General Conference I got from youhomebasedmom.com.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

On a totally different note, I also was feeling crafty while Chase was gone. I started painting the cradle, but have yet to finish it. When I do I will post pictures. I also made some cheer bows to send to Utah my favorite cheer gym (where I used to coach)!

They are having their first performance on October 27th, the UPA Team Showcase. At the Showcase, they are having raffle prizes and the money is going toward their Special Athlete teams. UPA has 2 Special Athletes teams and are blessed to able to provide these teams free of charge to the families because of the great support system they have… from the coaches and all-star team members donating their time to the wonderful people and companies who have donated to the cause and to the raffle. I am contributing in the small way that I can by having some bows in the raffle. If you would like to donate anything or know anyone that would let me know and I can get you in contact with UPA’s owner Emily.

Here are some of the bows that I made while Chase was gone.

Food

I’ve sure enjoyed baking and cooking recently. The only thing that stinks about it all is cleaning up after.

While Chase was gone I decided to make chicken pillows, or as some people call them chicken rolls, because I had been craving them and they aren’t his favorite meal. If you haven’t ever had these before, you need to make them. It’s an easy, yummy comfort food.

I made cinnamon rolls this past weekend. First time to do those from scratch. They were so delicious. We shared some with friends and devoured the rest! I used one of the recipes from Our Best Bites. I will definitely be making those again.

One of Chase’s favorite meals is meatloaf and for some reason I have never made it for him. I always tell him that my mom makes the best meatloaf… and I finally decided to make it for him. And it was a success, he loved it! He described it as, “meat candy”, haha. The secret is in the brown sugar ketchup topping… yummy.

Well I think that is enough for now. I will probably have another post soon. My dad is in Oregon for a quick business trip and we will get to see him tonight. YAY! So I will have pictures from that and then pictures of my hopefully better looking hair.

2 thoughts on “Less than 100 Days

Leave a Reply

